Health and Fitness

Cycling, breakfast & PSL’s

I tried something new. That shouldn’t necessarily be completely shocking though. I am pretty good about trying new things and being open minded, especially when it comes to working out. Last week, I was feeling good. My headaches weren’t that bad and I didn’t have a migraine, yet. I was cleaning my room and found a free class card for a spin studio we have in Sonoma called Sonoma Cycle Fit. It’s actually the first cycling studio in Sonoma, as far as I know. They also offer TRX classes and other strength training classes, it’s great and has been a huge hit in town. Sonoma may be a small town, but we have a ton of yoga studios, a pure barre studio, cycling studio, two CrossFit facilities and a handful of gyms. Also, one of the Zumba instructors teaches at school gymnasiums to give people an opportunity to experience her class outside of the gym. There’s really NO excuse to not work out if you live here. We are incredibly lucky and I had to state that before I go any further. So, there I was with my free class card, I looked up the schedule for the nights classes and there was going to be a 30/30 class. Spin first then TRX after. I prepared myself all day, making sure I had plenty of food and water in my system. During spin I was okay, it was my first time but easy to follow along with the workout. Of course, I kept my gears a little lower then everyone so I didn’t over-do it. When I do cardio that really gets my heart rate going I have to be careful, too much and I get light headed. Well, we finished spin and I felt good. We grab kettle balls and go into kettle ball swings and I’m still feeling okay. It was after we finished kettle ball swings that I started feeling light headed, then my vision was getting a little blurry. All I could think was “fuck, don’t faint. There’s a glass wall or a mirror, nowhere safe to land”. I was more concerned about being the bull in a china shop, then injuring myself. It was pretty embarrassing having to excuse myself to sit outside. I hate feeling like I can’t do something that I know I can do. I have the strength and mindset to do it, but my head can’t for whatever reason. I was pretty bummed the rest of the week. I went back to my gym and continued my workouts, but I was still so frustrated about not being to finish the class. Now, I am determined to get myself to finish a Spin class. Yesterday instead of running I jumped on a bike and did that for 20 minutes. I would increase the difficulty and decrease it like we did in class. I got a little lightheaded, but was fine to continue my workout and lift weights. So, hopefully soon I’ll be back in a cycling studio not almost fainting.

This past week I have also been really good at eating breakfast. Like, really good. Well, I’m actually good at eating breakfast, but I love it when someone else makes it for me. Like, one of my favorite restaurants in town. My go to place is EDK (Eldorado Kitchen). I know that menu better than myself. Mmm, now I want chipotle eggs benedict, damn. I always try to be good about starting my day off with a big meal. But, I’m really good at just having coffee or tea and feeling fine. I don’t make terrible food choices the rest of the day, but I definitely eat more when I do that. When I have breakfast first thing I feel so much fuller throughout the day and eat less. I love breakfast, it’s my favorite meal you can have, aside from sushi, tacos, pizza and burgers, ha-ha. Poached eggs have been a big thing for me this last week, no matter I chose to have I always made sure to have an egg as the main part of the meal or on the side. I discovered whole wheat pancakes, thanks to my dad. I enjoy and prefer them compared to regular pancakes. I’m one of those non-loving pancakes folk. Pancakes are too dense for my stomach, especially for my first meal. But, the whole wheat ones are light and much easier on my stomach. One day I was short on eggs and traded out the egg for applesauce and I always use almond milk in place of regular milk. They were so good! I highly suggest you go try it that way. If any of you have made anything paleo or vegan you’ll already be aware of this wonderful trick. The applesauce gives the pancake a nice sweetness and you really don’t need any kind of syrup on it. But, maple syrup was really good on one of them. Making time for my morning meal has really been one of the best things I have done for myself as of recent and I’m glad I’m doing it.

Oh – and I have found a Pumpkin Spice Latte that warms my heart…Dutch Brothers, who knew!? I tried it this weekend with some of my girls and it was delicious! October without Pumpkin Spice Lattes was leaving an empty place in my heart and soul. Seriously though, try Dutch Brothers PSL with soy or almond milk. I have had it blended, iced and hot and all were delicious.

Standard

Leave a Reply

