Recipes

Butternut Squash Soup

What I love most about fall are the clothes and delicious food. Fall is pretty much all about comfort foods, big-hearty, warm, filling meals. I love the amount of oversized, cable-knit sweaters everywhere. Boots! Oh my god, boots! Boots are everywhere too and none the with the fur. Uggs are pretty much no where in sight yet and instead us women get to appreciate each others boots. Uggs are great, but my feet over heat in them unless it’s freezing outside and close to snowing. How often during fall are you thinking “Damn girl! Where’d you get those boots?” or “I NEED those booties, and I need them now!”. Real, grown up, sexy boots. Sweaters and boots are a match made in heaven. Add some bomb pumpkin spice latte, or butternut squash soup or ravioli, hell even risotto and you’re living in my fall fantasy. And let’s be honest, yes its really cool when stores offer fall vegetables year round, but they don’t taste the same as they do in October and November…fact. Halloween and Thanksgiving are also just around the corner. It should also be noted that its little’s fourth birthday in November. Like I said, fall is the best.

My sister manages a great boutique in town called Perle. They sell a lot of Free People and other great brands such as Eternal Sunshine Creations, Sanctuary Clothing, Red Haute Clothing, Z Supply, Goddis Knits and many more. In fact, I’m practically drooling and obsessing over a sweater dress that Eternal Sunshine Creations made. Its stunning and my heart races just dreaming about it. I will own it and find multiple occasions to wear it too. I will also show it off on my Instagram every chance I get. I will admit, I am a Free People fanatic. They make these tank tops call LA Nite Tanks. It’s one of those staples that you need in any and every color, and guess what? I have six and found two more I want. They are so comfortable and only twenty dollars each, that’s a steal. And, also why I love Free People, they do all sorts of styles and have a great price arrange for all of their pieces. Try on a sweater and tell me you don’t love how it feels or looks. They mastered the oversized sweater. I have an obsession with sweaters, I know. But, how could you not? Even Target has been stepping up their sweater game. But, that’s another topic for another day because Target is just on point with everything lately.

Since fall has officially begun, I have been craving Butternut Squash soup. I always knew I wanted to create my own or throw my own spin on the classic and I finally did it. Sometimes, I use a little chicken broth or vegetable broth, other times I have used nothing but the squash and some mirepoix for a thicker soup. This time though, I went a little rogue. I love bell peppers, spicy, sweet, all of them. My taste testers for anything I cook is my family, who don’t necessarily appreciate peppers like I do. So, I went very basic and used green peppers. In my mind, the combination was beautiful. I sautéed the peppers with onions and garlic. later added coconut milk and some spices, scooped the roasted squash into the mixture and blended it all up. I topped it off with bacon and diced Serrano peppers to give me the heat that I enjoy. For my first time creating something of my own, I would say it went fairly well. I loved how it came out. If you’re interested in giving this recipe a try I have included the ingredients and instructions below. This is paleo friendly and dairy free as well.

image

You will need

2 md-lrg Butternut Squash
3 Green Bell Peppers
1 Small Onion
2 Cloves of Garlic
3-4 Cups Coconut Milk
2 Tablespoons Olive Oil or Coconut Oil
1 pinch Pepper Flakes
Salt & Pepper to taste

Avocado, Bacon & 1 Serrano pepper for the topping

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Cut squash in half and spread whichever oil you chose on the cut side of the squash. (You may sprinkle any spice or salt if you like, I used Paprika and loved the flavor it gave). Place on a baking sheet with cut side facing up. Roast for 45 minutes to an hour, if it takes longer don’t stress. Depending on the cut and how big the squash is will vary the amount of time needed to roast.

Chop Bell Peppers, Onions and garlic and place in a large pot with the remaining tablespoon of oil. Cook on medium to medium to low heat until the peppers are tender and the onions are translucent. Add two cups of coconut milk and simmer for 15 minutes. Some of the liquid will reduce, that’s fine.

Pull the squash from the oven and let it cool for a few minutes. You may then start scooping the squash into your bell pepper and onion mixture. Once it is all added in, stir in another cup of coconut milk. Stir well and let that simmer again for 10 minutes. Add your salt and pepper as well. At this point you may start blending your mixture. I used my Ninja and just did a little at a time and would pour it back in the pot and continue the process until it was all smoothed out. You may need the remaining cup to help blend the squash and vegetables if the mixture is too thick. Because of the size of my two squash I definitely needed all four cups.

I baked about 6 pieces of bacon and chopped up one whole Serrano. For my own personal serving I used two pieces of bacon and a pinch or two of the chopped peppers. For my family, I used 2 pieces of bacon each and underneath that I placed two medium-sized slices of avocado.

Standard

Leave a Reply

