Get Healthy, Health and Fitness

March 30th | 17.4 & 17.5

It has been one week since the final workout was announced for The Open. The five weeks went by so fast, I can’t believe it. Each week was more and more exciting and terrifying all at the same time. I learned new strengths about myself and to just say fuck it and do whatever is handed to me. At times I definitely hated it, but loved it just as much. Of course, at the end of the day I am proud of myself and what I accomplished. I did two of five workouts rx’d and scaled the remaining. My deficiencies were apparent and I know what I need to work on. But that’s all apart of this journey. I am really looking forward to next year and to seeing how I improve over the year.

17.4 has so far been my favorite workout of The Open. Of the four movements it included three that I love, deadlifts, wall balls & rowing. Yes, I love rowing, no I am not crazy. Yes, I may learn to hate it, but right now I love it and would rather row than run. Straight Up. I don’t even wish that I was lying to you about that. 17.4 was a repeat workout and a lot of people seemed to be pretty excited, which I totally get. It was a second chance for people to try the workout and see how far they have come from last year. The prescribed weight for the women was 155 pounds, ten pounds shy of my PR weight of 165 pounds. Which by the way I maybe did three or times, and not like separate times, I legitimately mean four times in my life, haha. But, I wasn’t going to do the workout scaled, scaled would have been 95 pounds. Which, if I did scaled I probably would have finished the workout. Scaled for 17.4 was the 95 pound deadlifts, 10 pound wall balls and instead of handstand push-ups, push-ups with a hand release. Oh, and that was my subtle way of saying that I did not complete the workout. But, let’s be honest I wasn’t going to. Let’s start with the time cap, 13 minutes. So in 13 minutes I would have had to complete 55 deadlifts, 55 wall balls, 55 calories on the row and 55 HSPU’s. I got through the deadlifts, wall balls and about 75% through the row. Deadlifts I started out okay, I did 7 and then it slowly trickled down to 1 at a time, but I fought through it. During wall balls I could definitely start feeling everything in my knees, they were not happy. By the time I got to the row I had maybe a minute and a half and I jammed through that shit. I was rowing like nobody’s business. At first my pace was 10 calories per thirty seconds, so I knew and accepted that I would not get 55 calories before the 13 minutes was up. But I knew thirty was at least doable. Oh, I forgot to mention a kind of important detail, I was the only one working out in my heat. I like to go last, watch everyone else workout and then get to it. Well, I ended up being alone. So all eyes were on me, and Aurora. Thankfully baby girl worked out and had her own version of 17.4, I posted a video on my Instagram last week because I was so proud of her. She, of course, finished way before I did. So there I was kind of alone, all eyes on me for the next thirteen minutes. Everyone was cheering and keeping me going, which was awesome because it was a battle. My judge/coach, Tommy, helped me get through it too. When I got to the row, holy shit. I just felt the presence of men haha. I think I had four people yelling at me to not quit and to just finish strong. Two of my girls came to support me which was awesome too. It was nice to know they were there to cheer me on and support me along this little journey of mine. When I finished the row I thought I was going to pass out, my legs were shot. I ended up with 145 reps completed out of 220. Like I have said before I just have to keep reminding myself that I am on my fifth month of doing Crossfit.

17.4 – 13 minute AMRAP

  • 55 Deadlifts
    • 155 pounds
  • 55 Wall Balls
    • 14 pound ball
  • 55 Calorie Row
  • 55 Handstand Push-ups

The live announcement for 17.5 was really exciting to watch. They had Katrin Davidsdottir and Sara Sigmundsdottir, two beautiful and badass girls from Iceland go head to head. These girls finished the workout in less than 7 minutes, we were given a 40 minute time cap. Insane. They are so strong and it was incredible to watch. The workout itself was 10 rounds, 9 thrusters and 35 double-unders. I cannot do double unders quite yet. There was one time last month where I was able to link 10, which was miracle in my mind. But 350, I knew would not be able to do just yet so I chose to do the workout scaled, which was just your basic run of the mill single unders,also 35 times. The weight from the thrusters was 45 instead of the rx’d 65 pounds. I finished in 13 minutes and 6 seconds and I am good with that. I don’t really know what else to say. This workout was simple and to the point as far as movements go. As soon as they say “go”, you go and you don’t stop and you just power through.

17.5 – 40 minute time cap

  • 9 Thrusters RX’d: 65 pounds
    • Scaled: 45 pounds
  • 35 Double Unders
    • Scaled: 35 Singles

 

Thank you to everyone who supported me the past five weeks and continues to support me on this journey of mine. It means a lot to know I have all of you behind me and cheering me on. Thank you to my three awesome coaches who push me and motivate me to do my best. Thank you to my judges for all of the Open workouts, for keeping me calm and helping me get through movements I didn’t think I could. Thank you to the CFVOM community, I enjoyed cheering you all on and watching you all kick ass.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

